The 10th National Barrett's Symposium Report

On Friday 8th of April 2016 together with the support of Heartburn Cancer UK, Professor Fitzgerald and Professor Lovat hosted the 10th National Barrett’s Symposium at University College Hospital Education Centre. The event was a huge success with over 100 attendees which included patients, surgeons, gastroenterologists, endoscopists, epidemiologists, histopathologists, scientists, nurse specialists, PhD student’s with an interest in Barrett’s Oesophagus.

The day was packed with a host of presentations and workshops and it gave everyone the opportunity to network with other colleagues in the field.

It was great to see the interest displayed from the patients attending, with a significant increase in number this year.

A huge factor contributing to this success was the variety of presenters and their wide range of knowledge and expertise in this area.

The event began with a warm welcoming speech from Dr Laurence Lovat from University College London followed by our speakers sharing their exciting and interactive research updates on their scientific work.

Prof. Bas Weusten, University of Amsterdam shared his latest advances in Cryotherapy in Barrett's oesophagus as a treatment strategy.

Followed by a presentation from Mr. Andrew Beggs , University of Birmingham on Methylation techniques and novel Barrett’s biomarkers.

Prof. Wayne Phillips from the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Australia gave a fascinating talk on targeting p53 for the treatment of Barrett's adenocarcinoma.

Finally an interesting joint presentation from Dr. Massimiliano di Pietro Cambridge University Hospital & Dr. Rehan Haidry UCLH on the trials in Barrett’s oesophagus 2016: opportunities and progress.

A high number of abstracts were submitted by many enthusiastic delegates from different organisations and these were judged by the experts in the field, including Professor Hugh Barr, Professor Andrew Sharrocks, Mr Tim Underwood, Professor Laurence Lovat, Professor Rebecca Fitzgerald and Dr Maria O’Donovan.

In parallel, there was the free scientific paper session during which the candidates presented their research on novel biomarker techniques used in the detection of BO and early changes to cancer. These were judged by Mr Richard Folley, Dr Yeng Ang, Dr Richard Turkington, Dr Damian McManus and Prof Sheila Krishnadath.

This year’s winners of the Doyle Award are:

1st Place
Maria Secrier - Mutational signatures reveal subgroups of distinct aetiology and new therapeutic opportunities in oesophageal adenocarcinoma.

2nd Place
Edward Britton from the University of Manchester with his presentation on ATAC-seq in cancer biopsies – A step closer to personalised cancer therapy?

3rd Place
Vinay Sehgal from UCL - Machine learning creates a simple endoscopic classification system that improves dysplasia detection in Barrett’s oesophagus amongst non-expert endoscopists.

Finally Professor Fitzgerald and Professor Lovat concluded the event with a thankful note to all the attendees for their contribution to make the 10th National Symposium a huge successful day.

The event was sponsored by SynMed & Medtronic

Organised and Supported by Heartburn Cancer UK (HCUK) Registered Charity 1136413

To see the full agenda and details of the 10th Barrett's Symposium click on the green logo block above

what is barretts

For Support
or to make a
Donation call
2089 46216

© Heartburn Cancer UK         Terms & Conditions  |  Privacy  |  Accessibility  |  Site Map

Heartburn Cancer Uk is registered in England and Wales. Company limited by Guarantee. Company Registration Number: 07227937
Charity Registration Number: 1136413. Registered Office: Orchard House, Walton Lane, Bosham, Chichester, West Sussex, PO18 8QB

For the very latest HCUK News & Events Information go to our Facebook & Twitter pages